What do you mean I can’t be everything?

Ever since I was young I’ve had trouble understanding and coping with not being able to do everything.

Like, what do you mean I can’t be an astronaut, a teacher, a chef, a doctor, and the President?

As a child, I had a new dream job every other week, and even now as a young adult there are too many things I want to do with my life that I’m having trouble deciding. Even in my everyday life I try to do to much, and be too many things. I want to be everything!

I want to be preppy, bohemian, sporty, trendy, and business casual all at the same time.

I have personal accounts on Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr as well as secondary accounts on all with three completely different focuses!

I try to run an Etsy shop, a blog, and a youtube channel and participate in a forum. All the while being a three-season student athlete and double majoring and having a job.

I love my crazy busy schedule, even though I am usually surviving off coffee to make up for a lack of sleep and constantly wishing there were a few extra hours in the day.

Doing it all is really hard, and I don’t even do all that I want. I just do a lot. I wish I had more time to work out, I wish I knew how to put on make up really well like the girls I follow on Instagram, I wish I had more time to build a wardrobe and have cute outfits, I wish my social medias would go viral and my blog would draw attention, and I wish that I had my life together, had some great internship, and knew what I wanted to do with my life. But does anyone really have their life together?

Aren’t we all just putting on a show like we have it together? The some of the most successful people in the world in the highest jobs don’t really know what they’re doing do they? When you’re a kid, it feels like your parents have got it all together and they know what they’re doing. Then as you grow up you start to realize that your parents had no idea what they were doing and having kids is scary and they were just making it up as they went along. I feel like that’s what it’s like in the real world, the work world. You fake it until you make it, and then I guess you keep faking it. Do CEOs know what they’re doing or do they just act like it?

I guess I’ll just keep faking it until I end up in a job I love. Whether I end up fulfilling either of my majors by making films or becoming a graphic designer, or reaching my absolute dream job of being a Disney Imagineer, or on a job path I couldn’t possibly imagine now I know I’ll be fine as long as I’m happy with my life. It’s scary to think about the future, but tomorrow holds endless possibilities. So maybe I won’t be the President or an astronaut but whatever I do I know I hope I love it and do it well.

Leave a Reply

