Four Cheese Pasta Sauce

So one of my vows for 2016 was to learn how to cook, so here’s the first thing I made in the new year!

The other night I cooked a four cheese chicken pasta bake from this recipe I found on Pinterest. I adapted it a little, but honestly I’m obsessed with this cheese sauce that I can now call mine!

For the cheese sauce here’s what you need:

  • 9 tablespoons of butter
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons of flour
  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup of half and half
  • 1 heaping cup of grated Gouda
  • 1 heaping cup of grated Romano
  • 1 heaping cup of sharp white cheddar cheese
  • 8 oz (1 tub) of Mascarpone cheese

Now when I say heaping cup I really mean it! The recipe I followed called for “1 cup and 2 tablespoons” so I just filled a cup and then threw some more on top! I love cheese so the cheesier the better!

How to cook it:

Melt the butter in the saucepan on medium heat, add in the flour. Gradually add the can of chicken broth and let that all boil, then change the heat to low. Then add all of your cheeses in and the half-and-half and let them all melt together and get delicious and keep stirring it!

For the Four Cheese Chicken Pasta Bake:

You use 1 lb. of pasta, 2 chicken breasts cut up (you can use more if you like a lot of chicken!), and a little bit of parmesan for a topping, and a 9×9 or oval dish.

Cook the pasta, cook the chicken, make the sauce, stir it all together! I mixed the sauce with the chicken and then mixed it all with the pasta and put it in a 9×9 dish. Then bake for 15-25 minutes or until it’s hot in the middle.

There was extra so we filled a small aluminum square tin with that and baked that the next day, no chicken though!

We tried to sell it as mac and cheese to my niece, but she said it must be grown up mac and cheese. We all really enjoyed it though! I would literally eat this cheese sauce on anything, I’d love to dip some pretzel bread in it!

The cost:

Alright, so the one thing I dislike about finding recipes on Pinterest is you rarely have the ingredients you need and you never realize how expensive it the recipes is gonna be until you’re at the checkout and you’re like “Oh my gosh! How did I spend that much!” So here’s the what this cost me to make this.

I already had romano, butter, and half-and-half, and grated parmesan.

S0 my cheeses were $15, yup. The mascarpone (8oz tub), gouda (.6 lb.), and sharp white cheddar cheese (8oz bag) was $15, but there is plenty left over of the gouda and I could probably make this sauce one, maybe even two, times more.

The broth was $2, so the sauce was like $17.

The pasta was under $2 and the chicken was $11, but it was on sale buy one, get one free so that was nice and I’ll have chicken for my next cooking adventures!

So yeah, it was about $30 for the ingredients I did have but like who just has gouda and mascarpone chilling in their fridge? Not me, that’s not who. So this definitely isn’t a sauce I would make all the time, but man is it delicious so it’s definitely worth the splurge every once and a while. AND this was the first meal I cooked for my boyfriend so it had to be good, and man it was good!

IMG_4193

 

IMG_4194

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

