Week 1 In The Life Of A NYC Intern

Hey everyone! So as I mentioned in my last post, I just moved to New York for an internship with NBCUniversal!

I moved into my apartment on Sunday and man was it hot! It was about 97 degrees in the city, like no joke. I was dripping sweat, it was horrible! After a long day of moving and making a run to Target, I set my room up, took a shower, and went to bed.

Monday: I woke up around 7:30am and started getting ready. On day 1, I had to be at work at 10am. It took me a while to get ready this morning because I was really nervous. I never know what to wear on the first day. I ended up wearing black pants and a green shirt with black ballet flats.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.40.06 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.26.33 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.41.11 PM

I walked over to the subway took it down to 51st and walked over to 30 Rock. I was a bit early so I grabbed Starbucks and then headed over to the welcome center.

IMG_3907.jpg

Including myself, there are three interns for this semester in our department. When I got to the welcome center one of the other interns was there and two current interns came down to meet us. We went up to our department, we were given our intern manuals, and we started learning how to do things. I learned sooo much on day 1! I really like this internship because I’m working in a small department and I get to work closely with the people who are in charge of the entire department. I’ve already learned so much and done so much and I’ve only been there for 5 days! But that’s jumping ahead.

We worked on the daily tasks we have to do everyday and the current interns taught us all of the software and what not that we needed to do. We headed to the NBC Commissary for lunch, which was so cool, there a ton of memorabilia and pictures of the old photos, and there’s a bunch of TVs everywhere so we were watching like four different Olympic events at once. I left work around 6 and headed back home.

When I got back home, I changed and walked a few blocks to find a grocery store. I did some shopping and then headed back to the apartment. I was exhausted after a long day of learning and walking. I Facetimed with my boyfriend and then I went to bed.

What I learned Day 1:  DON’T WEAR FLATS IF YOU DON’T NORMALLY WEAR FLATS! Or just don’t wear ballet flats. I have THE worst blisters on my heels and my toes and the sides of my feet. Just everywhere. Wear a change of shoes and change before you get to work.

I learned a lot of different software and tasks that I had no idea were even typical tasks we would have to do. I’d never done marketing before so I wasn’t really sure of what it entailed.

Tuesday: Day 2 and I woke up pretty early again. I got ready for the day. I wore a pair of navy patterned pants, a white t-shirt, and Jack Rogers sandals. I could not bare to wear anything over the blisters on my heels. And the VP of our department was wearing sandals the day before so I figured it was okay if I wore sandals too. She actually commented and said that she really liked my sandals and that Katie Couric had a pair when she worked at NBC.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.26.24 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.41.36 PM

I got to work at 9:30. I got to work more hands on today. The day before I mostly watched the summer interns and learned how to do things, so this day I worked on the computer and she watched on to help me as I needed.

IMG_3909

^^ I’m obsessedddd with these carpets in the elevators!

Wednesday: I got to work a little early this morning so I walked around the concourse and went to The Paper Source, which is one of my favorite stores, I’m obsessed with stationary! I got a really cute card to send Matt. Then I headed up to the office, and started working on our daily tasks. In the afternoon, we had a Skype meeting with the West Coast team. We prepped for the next day and then we got to leave work!

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.35.03 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.42.53 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.41.36 PM

After work two of the girls I work with and I went to a place called S’MAC that makes mac and cheese from your dreams! I had hamburger mac and cheese! Then on my way home I went to Emack and Bolios and got an amazing ice cream cone! I got Cookie Monster in a Rice Krispie cone. It was amazing.

IMG_3915IMG_3916IMG_3923

Thursday: This morning I didn’t have time to eat breakfast so I grabbed a bagel from a food truck on the way to work. This day was that last day for one of the summer interns (and Friday was the last day for the other summer intern), we ordered barbecue for lunch and had a work meeting lunch. Then when we later in the afternoon we had ice cream and they gave her a going away card and present.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.29.07 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.27.14 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.42.06 PM

Friday: The last of our two mentors (the summer interns) had his last day, it was sad for us newbies and kind of nerve-racking that the person who had all the answers to our questions would be gone for good. I got to work super early this day so I went to the commissary and grabbed something to eat for breakfast.

Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.33.29 PMScreen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.41.36 PM

We worked away on our daily tasks and sent out all the things that needed to be sent, later in the day we got brownies for the interns going away gesture because he loves brownies, they were super good! We all sat and talked for a bit about advice from past interns to new interns before the end of the day and then we got to go home.

I didn’t want to go home after work so I wander around a bit. I discover the location of this waterfall because I just stumbled upon it! I’d seen this on Pinterest and it was so cool to just wander upon it.

IMG_3928IMG_3931

I decided to go over to the TKTS booth in Times Square and see how much a ticket for Finding Neverland would be. I got an awesome ticket for like $80! It was about 6:30 at this time and I was really hungry so I walked around looking for a spot to grab something to eat really quick! I went to the Iron Bar and I got Crab & Waffles! It was super yummy!

IMG_3936

IMG_3938

After I ate, I went over to the theater and headed in. Finding Neverland is closing August 21st and I really wanted to see it before it closed. It was SO good! I love the story of Peter Pan and always have, it has been one of my favorite things since I was really young.

IMG_3935IMG_3950

It was so great! I laughed! I cried! The songs were great, the story was great, the actors were great. MY HEART! I cried like 5 times! I loved Tony Yazbeck as James M. Barrie, I loved Paul Slade Smith as Charles Frohman! Everyone was amazing! All the kids, the entire cast! Like that musical broke my heart, I was weeping. I’m so glad that I got to see it before it closed.

After the play I headed home and went to bed after a long, long week.

IMG_3958
**This blog and my opinions do not reflect those of the NBCUniversal. This post is written purely as a diary to keep track of my personal adventures. If you ever have any concerns about any of the content, please contact me directly.**
Leave a Reply

